TESTIMONIALS AND REVIEWS

"Gift ideas to give your audiophile for the 2008 holiday season!" - Steven R. Rochlin, Rick Becker and the Enjoy the Music.com Staff, Great Audiophile Gifts 2008, December 2008

"We experimented with AVM a long time, and it makes a big difference." - Ultra Audio Sound To The Extreme, Reference 3A Grand Veena Loudspeakers, March 1, 2008

"I have been painting with AVM for two weeks but have no understanding of why it works. It does!" - Norm, Isolation Ward, March 1, 2008

"My highest recommendation as one of the most cost effective tweaks" - Rick Becker, Reviewer of Enjoy the Music .com, March 2008

"A manufacturer was blown away today" - Norm Luttbeg, February 29, 2008

"Le AVM tiens ses promesses : les vibrations sont contrôlées" - Michel Savignac, Magazine Audio, Publié le 27 août 2007

"第一声入耳就感觉到听感明显不同了" -视听前线,2006年1月(第1期), Jan 2006

"经AVM Uniko神油处理后,给人的感觉是海阔天空、晴空万理" -新音响,2006年(第59期), 2006

"Significantly improved clarity, bass extension and highs extension" - Marlen Mogilever, Director Of Research & Development of Sound Fusion Inc., November 24, 2005

"产品能有效的全面的改善扬声器的音质,并且效果是显著的" -李晓琳,金琅音响公司的董事长, Aug 30, 2005

"The most versatile and effective product I have yet seen" - Rick Schultz, Designer and President of Virtual Dynamics cables and President and Co-designer of Luminance Audio, June 15, 2005

"整体是较细致,宁静及音讯更清晰" - Winston Ma, President of First Impression Music Ltd ., May 19, 2005

"The amount of improvement is very large" - Dr. Ephrem Cheng, B.Sc., M. Sc., Ph.D. (Electrical Engineering, University Of Alberta), April 12, 2005


"Gift ideas to give your audiophile for the 2008 holiday season!"

Article By Steven R. Rochlin, Rick Becker and the Enjoy the Music.com Staff

Great Audiophile Gifts 2008, December 2008

AVM (Anti-Vibration Magic): Affectionately called Blue Tube Goop, you paint a ring around your small signal tubes, coat your glass fuses and dab it on the soldered IEC connections inside the chassis and revel at the improvement in focus. If the soldered connections of your interconnects are not already encased in silicone, use it there, too! A $100 bottle the size of nail polish is worth thousands of dollars in upgrades, earning it a Tweak of the Year Award this year. — Rick Becker (click here for review)


"We experimented with it a long time, and it makes a big difference."

Ultra Audio Sound To The Extreme

Reference 3A Grand Veena Loudspeakers, March 1, 2008

Among the other exotica inhabiting these speakers is Anto-Vibration Magic (AVM), a pricey damping fluid made by another Canadian company, Uniko Electronics, of Edmonton, Alberta. "We paint this on parts of the driver frame, the flexible joints of the drivers, and parts of the speaker box that need vibration damping," said Goka. "We experimented with it a long time, and it makes a big difference."


"I have been painting with AVM for two weeks but have no understanding of why it works. It does!"

Norm

Isolation Ward, March 1, 2008

Okay, I have been painting with AVM for two weeks but have no understanding of why it works. It does!

I have painted amp and source devices' transformers with enormous improvements. I have painted circuit boards in source devices with enormous improvements. I have painted input and connection wires with enormous improvements. I have painted cds with ugly results but enormous improvements. I have painted the housings of ac plugs with enormous improvements. I have painted caps in my amp with enormous improvement. I have painted the glass on tubes, mainly the IsoCleans with enormous improvements. I have yet to paint tubes, wall outlet covers, interconnects, speaker spiders, magnets, or crossovers, or windows in my listening room (Just kidding. My wife would kick me out). By enormous differences I mean that the bass becomes extended, profound, and has tone differences. One can much more feel the impact on ones body. The treble becomes quite extended and sweet, resolving every nuance in the recording including ambient decay making you hear differences in each recording venue. Vocalists are incredibly present and realistically sized. Everything sounds effortless and real. What seems most odd about it is the absence of anything becoming overdampened, but maybe this just requires doing more than I have done. This stuff, a rather viscous blue paint that dries to a very dull finish and gets much better after about 24 hours of set up, is a real enigma. Supposedly it deals with resonances but whether they are motion vibrations or electromagnetic vibrations, I don't know.

Were all manufacturers to treat their equipment, we would have a quantum jump in the quality of our sound.


"My highest recommendation as one of the most cost effective tweaks"

Rick Becker, Reviewer of Enjoy the Music.com

Winter Tweakfest 2008 - Windows, Floors and AVM (Blue Tube Goop ), March 2008

Blue Tube Goop

Well, that's what Rich Juszkiewicz and I called it after the young gentlemen at Accentus Audio pressed a couple of small bottles of AVM into our palms (AVM bottle size is 20mL @ $95 CDN). That was back in 2005 at the Montreal show, once again. AVM (Anti-Vibration Magic), but because it was a creamy colonial blue color and they suggested we paint it on our small signal tubes, Blue Tube Goop seemed like a more marketable hook. It sat on my desk between my computer keyboard and the monitor for almost three years, I'm ashamed to say. I had begun to worry about its shelf life . At the 2007 show, they assured me that it should still be good, but if it had dried out, I was to give them a call for a fresh supply. I figured either these guys were exceedingly gracious, or they knew vibration damping had become a passion for me.

With the encouraging success of the window and floor treatments, I reached for the bottle. The application instructions made it sound like a cure-all medicine. I revisited Accentus Audio and re-read the product info, industry reviews (except the ones in Chinese) and analyzed the photos. From the photos, it looked like some people had been given liters of this stuff to paint their equipment. The AVM washes off with water when still wet, but must be scraped off-like, with a razor blade - when dried. I opted for the conservative approach of painting a half-inch band around the mid-section of the small signal tubes of one of my Manley Labs Mahi monoblocks. I thought about testing it on Albert Von Schweikert's $22000 VAC Phi Beta, but it had to be returned before I could finish the testing. Just kidding, folks!!!

As with testing the posts beneath the loudspeakers, I could switch between the Mahis to compare the monaural sound of the treated tubes with the untreated ones. (I preferred to switch the cables rather than switching the tubes from one monoblock to the other ). However, listening in mono gave me only a slight hint of improvement. I scraped the blue goop off the tubes, which was not only slightly difficult but also removed the labeling on the tube. After a long listening session with my compilation CD I painted the small signal tubes of both monoblocks and waited a half hour for them to thoroughly dry. Reviewing the compilation CD in stereo revealed most of the results that were so highly lauded on the website, but the magnitude of improvement was not as great as claimed . Was this because my system was already highly tweaked and the opportunity for improvement was small?

I thought about these results for a while then went to my file cabinet and pulled out the manual for my CAT preamp. Hmmm. I removed the ten Allen head machine screws, popped off the lid and removed the Herbies Audio Lab HAL- O tube dampers. Another trip through my CD told me the HAL-O dampers were contributing, as there was a noticeable degradation in focus. Not huge, but noticeable. As both the line stage and the phono stage of the CAT have an identical complement of tubes, I popped the lid once again and pulled just the line stage set for painting with the AVM. If necessary, I could swap the phono stage tubes to the line stage for comparison. I replaced the blue-banded tubes and screwed down the lid once again. I enjoy working with hand tools; it helps me bond with my equipment, which is much more satisfying to me, I suspect, than throwing huge sums of money into the system.

The AVM-treated tubes in the preamp made a much larger contribution than only painting the small signal tubes in the power amplifiers . Rather than reciting the audiophile equivalent of the sixteen kinds of snow in the Eskimo language, let me simply state that the focus was very noticeably improved, once again. And I remind you, these results occurred after the windows and floor were tweaked, and the system is almost entirely supported with Boston Audio Designs TunePlates and Sound Dead Steel Isofeet held in place for the most part with Boston Audio Designs carbon graphite footers. "How much better could it possibly get?" I ask myself.

I looked at the photos of heavily painted components and decided that I didn't really want to go any further as it would probably negatively affect the resale value of the gear. Add to that the prospect of scraping AVM off capacitors and connections on a circuit board was not the least bit exciting. If you want to do it with your gear, that is fine. I expect you will have excellent results.

I basically left it at that point and returned to writing, but the story continued. After a mentally and emotionally exhausting Super Bowl the next day, I retreated to the listening room to catch the last 20 minutes of Hearts of Space on NPR and lament the New England Patriots football tram loss. This particular evening the music kept pulling me away from the journal I was thumbing through. It was sounding significantly better than usual and almost as good as when I had the Phi Beta amplifier and the VR- 4SR Mk2 speakers in the rig two weeks earlier. I was beginning to wonder if this was a side effect of the guacamole sauce when suddenly I remembered I had painted the tubes in the preamp. It is moments like this when my forgetfulness unwittingly creates a blind listening test that my original perceptions are unquestionably confirmed. Later that night I switched back to CDs and it seemed to sound even better than the previous day, suggesting that the effect improves as the material cures.

In the review section of the Accentus Audio site there is a link to my comments from the Montreal show where I suggest that I would use the AVM to tweak my tuner. Since this is a relatively inexpensive component that I intend to keep until the end of analog broadcasting, if not longer, I intend to press on with those plans. Furthermore, the guys at Audiyo.com, who are the distributors of AVM in Ontario and Quebec, Canada, sent me diagrams showing how best to treat certain power tubes, so that will be another direction to explore. Stay tuned for a follow-up review. In the mean time, AVM will have to suffice with my highest recommendation as one of the most cost effective tweaks available.


"A manufacturer was blown away today"

Norm Luttbeg

A manufacturer was blown away today

Roger Paul of North American Products that makes the H-Cat preamp that I use, experimented with AVM yesterday and today. A friend of mine in the Philadelphia area got a bottle of AVM from me and took it to Roger to treat the line stage that he had back with Roger to update. I had been raving about what AVM does for his preamp that I own. He painted the top of the input board on the back right of the preamp.

He has called me three times today starting by saying that he could not understand what he was hearing, then that it was outstanding, and finally that he had reached a state of Zen. Can you please tell me how a manufacture goes about getting some AVM. How do they order, pay, etc. I am going to send Roger one of the bottles you are sending me for manufacturers.

Please be certain with this order that UPS does treat the shipment as free of duty because it is made in Canada. Also, do I have your permission to send bottles to magazines for use in reviews. Can you give me the contact number of who they should talk with about AVM and how it works.

Norm Luttbeg


"Le AVM tiens ses promesses : les vibrations sont contrôlées"

par Michel Savignac, Magazine Audio, Publié le 27 août 2007







AVM pour Anti Vibration Magic

Bon, je sais, vous allez me dire que le nom semble tout droit sorti d'une boite à surprise, mais ne vous y fiez pas, ce produit est bel et bien efficace et tiens ses promesses.

Description

Présenté sous forme liquide de couleur bleu, il ne semble pas y avoir de trace d'aucun produit nocif ou toxique dans sa composition, le AVM sèche en quelques heures et peut être retiré avec de l'eau.

Le AVM peut être appliqué sur d'innombrables supports, qui ont la nécessité, bien entendu, d'être traités contre les vibrations, je pense notamment aux : CD, DVD, câbles, prises et connecteurs, composants électroniques, saladier de haut-parleur, tubes, moteurs, fusibles, liste non exhaustive...

Critiques :

- Marc PHILIP , rédacteur pour www.magazine-audio.com
- Michel Savignac, audiophile et mélomane

L'avis de Michel Savignac.

Le message s'adresse particulièrement à M. Ban Hoang d'Edmonton à propos de son produit AVM que j'ai testé.

C'est un plaisir pour moi de vous faire part de mes commentaires concernant votre produit AVM (Anti-Vibration-Magic).

J'ai souvent la chance de découvrir de nouveaux produits et composantes audio et quand j'en trouve

un ou une qui améliore la sonorité d'une chaîne audio j'en suis toujours heureux et le vôtre m'a apporté cette occasion.

Après avoir comparé mon CD (Super Sound II de FIM) avec le vôtre du même titre mais celui-ci traité avec le produit AVM le résultat fut convaincant dès les premières mesures d'écoute.

Le produit AVM apporte plus de "lumière" à l'image musicale, tout apparaît avec plus de clarté.

La dynamique est accrue et les basses sortent plus fermes.
Du côté des médiums et des hautes, elles se montrent plus raffinées, mieux ciselées.

En général le procédé AVM améliore la qualité sonore d’un CD et l’auditeur en bénéficie grandement par une présence plus sensible des instruments et des interprètes; la musique l’envahit.

Ce produit n’est pas un gadget, il est vraiment utile et tous les CD devraient être traités avec ce procédé.

Bonne chance dans vos projets et ce sera un plaisir de se revoir l’an prochain à Montréal.

Michel


"第一声入耳就感觉到听感明显不同了"

视听前线, 2006年1月(第1期), Jan 2006


"经AVM Uniko神油处理后,给人的感觉是海阔天空、晴空万理"

新音响, 2006年(第59期), 2006




Avis perso

J’ai vu et essayé pour la première fois le produit AVM en 2005 lors du festival du FSI de Montréal.

Lors du show, le représentant m’a fait une démonstration convaincante sur l’usage du AVM sur les tubes d’un amplificateur.

J’avais alors trouvé que le son, d’une part n’était pas le même, avec et sans le AVM, mais qu’il y avait un nette amélioration avec les tubes traités… mystère de mystère

Dans le cas présent, c’est comme si le bruit de fond avait reculé d’un cran et que la musique était devenue plus “nette”, plus “rapide”, notamment le registre grave, que le “voile” sur le bas mid et les aigus s’était envolé, bref, j’ai eu le sentiment que l’on gagnait en naturel incontestablement.

J’ai donc essayé en recouvrant l’arrière de mes haut-parleur (woofers), ce qui m’a permis de vérifier encore une fois que ce produit apporte un plus en terme de contrôle des vibrations, le grave s’est trouvé amélioré significativement, plus net et rapide, pas de traînage à l’horizon, sans pour autant être bridé en dynamique, le son est plus “propre”, si je peux m’exprimer ainsi.

Idem sur la partie supérieure d’un CD, le son change, et je rejoins Michel dans ses appréciations, c’est meilleurs avec le traitement AVM (Anti-Vibration-Magic).

Cette année encore lors du FSI de Montréal, le nouveau distributeur Canadien www.audiyo.com avait démontré que l’on pouvait tirer avantage du AVM, également sur un filtre passif d’enceintes acoustiques.

Conclusion

Les points forts :

  • Le AVM tiens ses promesses : les vibrations sont contrôlées;
  • Simplicité d’utilisation;
  • Usage multiple sur différents supports, pour preuve je vous invite à consulter la page web du fabricant : www.universalkaraoke.com;
  • Substance inerte, non toxique.

Les points faibles :

  • Rien de bien important compte tenu des performances, si ce n’est le tarif un peu élevé en regard de la faible quantité disponible que ce soit en version AVM-2 12ml à 73.00$ ou AVM-2 25ml à 146.00$.

Tarifs

  • Référence AVM2-12, bouteille de 12ml : 73.00$
  • Référence AVM2-25, bouteille de 25ml : 146.00$




Contacts importateur/distributeur

Audiyo Inc

10520 Yonge Street, Unit 35B
Suite# 267
Richmond Hill, Ontario
L4C 3C7

Company Web site :www.audiyo.com

Phone: (647) 294-7786
Fax: (905) 770-2263

e-mail General Inquiries : info@audiyo.com

e-mail OEM and Order Inquiries : sales@audiyo.com




Cet article a été rédigé par Michel Savignac et Marc PHILIP rédacteurs indépendants, tous droits réservés, copyright 2007, les textes et photos sont la propriété de l’auteur et du magazine, sous licence creative commons.

Bonne journée et bonnes écoutes.


"Significantly improved clarity, bass extension and highs extension"

Marlen Mogilever, Director Of Research & Development of Sound Fusion Inc.

Test Result of AVM Product, November 24, 2005

Dear Ban,

I am continuously testing both of your AVM products: 2 & 3 +

My tests are far from over but as of now I have some results, which I would like to share with you.

  1. I applied AVM 3+ to the crossover in my reference system and tested it with a regular, untreated crossover\ I found that AVM 3+ significantly improved clarity, bass extension and highs extension.
  2. It was good improvement in dynamics of the system.
  3. It was a good improvement in Sound Stage & Ambiance

This result I achieve also after testing the treated crossover with treated tweeter and mid-range driver with AVM 2.

As of a matter of fact, after treatment with AVM 2 of my drivers – all of the above was improved further.

Overall impression I have about your product is very promising. I am trying to pin point exactly which component contributes the most to the improvement.

I also want you to know that the best result I achieve was after applying 2 coats of AVM product.

I am planning to use AVM to treat all systems that will be displayed during the Las Vega Show.

As you promised – you are going to send me some literature with explanations of the benefits of the nature of using it.

After I am going to finish all of my testing – I will write a detailed analysis of the results of my tests and the benefits of using AVM 3+ and AVM 2 in audio equipment.

Sincerely,

Marlen Mogilever
Director Of Research & Development
Sound Fusion Inc.

1111 Flint Road
Unit # 1
Downsview, Ontario
Canada M3J 3C7

Office (416) 645-1726
Fax (416) 645-1727
info@soundfusion.ca
www.soundfusion.ca


"产品能有效的全面的改善扬声器的音质,并且效果是显著的"

李晓琳, 金琅音响公司的董事长

对AVM的评价(Aurum Cantus), Aug 30, 2005

作为中国最大的Hign end扬声器制造商之一,我们很荣幸测试AVM,现将整个测试过程和我们对AVM的评价公布如下:

我们首先生产了两对我们当前最顶级的书架式扬声器(型号为VOLLA),这两对扬声器的所有部件都经过严格的测试和配对处理,也就是说两对扬声器上使用的高音单元,中低音单元和分频器元件的技术数据几乎是完全相同的。扬声器装配好以后,我们又使用了LMS进行了测试,在确信两对扬声器的灵敏度、频响范围、阻抗和SPL完全相同的前题下,我们将其中一对VOLLA扬声器的分频器、内部连接线和中低音单元的框架均匀的涂上了两遍AVM NO.2 (总的用量大概为60mL)。待AVM充分干燥后,将扬声器装配起来,然后和那对没有使用AVM的扬声器进行声音对比测试(主观评价)。

参加声音对比测试的人员为两名,花费时间为4小时。在聆听过不同类型的测试曲目后,我们认为,使用了AVM扬声器的音质表现有了非常明显的提高,具体为音乐的背景变得很干净,3D效果更加明显,高音细节丰富,中音透明圆润,低音干净俐落,深沉有力,扬声器的瞬态特性也得到了很好的改善。总之,使用了AVM的VOLLA扬声器对比那对没有使用AVM的VOLLA扬声器,在音质方面有了大幅度的提高。

另外,我们还将AVM涂在我们的型号为AC165/50C2C 6.5"中低音单元的音圈上进行对比测试,结果是SPL变得非常平滑,我们认为在音圈上使用AVM可以吸收部份中低音单元的有害振动,从而达到降低单元失真的目的。

结论,从我们对AVM主现测试的结果来看,该产品能有效的全面的改善扬声器的音质,并且效果是显著的。

此信息由Aurum Cantus发布。

李晓琳
2005.08.30

http://www.haihuang-audio.com
http://www.aurumcantus.com
E-mail: jinlang@public.ytptt.sd.cn


"The most versatile and effective product I have yet seen"

Rick Schultz, Designer and President of Virtual Dynamics cables and President and Co-designer of Luminance Audio

Anti Vibration Magic, June 15, 2005

I am Rick Schultz, designer and president of Virtual Dynamics cables and President and Co-designer of Luminance Audio. I was introduced to AVM as one of the first people fortunate enough to try this product.

I specialize in vibration control for audio products and had a keen interest in Anti Vibration Magic. When I was first told about the product nothing could have prepared me for the result of my applications. I have used AVM in nearly every practical application including transformers, circuit boards, tubes, transistors, chassis, capacitors, cartridges, tone arms, motor drives, speaker chassis, drivers, crossovers and more.

The result is a lowering of the distortion noise and increase of sonic performance that has been unequaled by any other single product I have encountered. I have found blacker backgrounds with better energy while maintaining better control in virtually every application. AVM is likely the most versatile and effective product I have yet seen for consistent sonic improvements.

The amplifier transformers on my tube amps resonated so loud I could hear them from my listening position. After a single application of AVM on one side of the housing the volume of this vibration dropped so low I had to put my ear directly up to the transformer to hear it! After treating the exposed outside wire and several other areas of the same transformer I could hear vibration only with the use of a stethoscope.

In my experience transformers, circuit boards, and tubes are most greatly impacted by this product. Speaker drivers also are incredibly impacted by AVM and offer the biggest area of audible improvement overall. Simply, AVM works anywhere you put it, enough said !

Prepared by Rick Schultz,
June 15, 2005

If you are interested in knowing more about Virtual Dynamics, you can follow this link www.virtualdynamics.ca .


"整体是较细致,宁静及音讯更清晰"

Winston Ma, President of First Impression Music Ltd.

对AVM的报告(PDF,151kb), May 19, 2005


"The amount of improvement is very large"

Dr. Ephrem Cheng, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Electrical Engineering, University Of Alberta)< /p>

High end audio subjective review of Anti-Vibration Magic (AVM), April 12, 2005

I have tried the AVM* in many occasions on various high end audio components, such as equipment fuses, transformers, vacuum tubes, cables, circuit boards, etc. The sonic improvement in each case is immediate and positive, and the amount of improvement is very large.

In my over thirty years of experience as an audiophile, other vibration damping materials were used, but the end result was mostly mixed, with some negative effects and some positive. None has been proven to yield the following:

  1. Quality Of Sonic Improvements:
    Musicality, density/richness, 3-D effect, image specificity and third dimension, instrument air, sound stage clarity, details, transient clarity, taming of 'hot' and 'bright' system sound, inter-transient and intra-transient silence, blacker background, ... etc.
  2. Quantity Of Sonic Improvements:
    It is amazingly 'huge'. One must hear it to fully believe and appreciate it. In simple terms, it can be equated to thousands of dollars of equipment upgrades.

*Product of Uniko Audio, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Prepared by: Ephrem Cheng, B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. (Electrical Engineering, University Of Alberta)
Phone Number: 780-462-6005
Email address: ephrem@ephrem.net